Davangere District Profile

Davanagere district carved out of the erstwhile three districts namely Chitradurga, Shimoga and Bellary derives its name from DEVANAGARI. Davanagere is one of THIRTY districts of Karnataka state. With creation of the new district on 15th August 1997 with Davanagere as its headquarters the district was given the name of the headquarters town called Davanagere.

Places of Visits

The Kundwada Lake is the closest place to the people of the city. Harihar Tungabhadra and ancient Harihareshwar Temple, Shantisagar, Kondajji’s Forest Reserve, Bheemeshwara temples of Nilgunda, Uccadaghatri Karibasweshwar Ajjayya Temple, Nandigudi, ancient Pushkarini of Santhebunur.

 The Tungabhadra River passes through the Honnali Taluk and then forms the natural boundaries in the Harihara and Harapanahalli borders in the west.  the broad guage railway line passes through Davanagere and Harihara towns. In 1997, then chief minister JH Patel transformed Davanagere into an independent district. Earlier, Davangere was one of the taluks of Chitradurga district. Davangere district is home to six taluks and one of the major commercial centers of Karnataka.

Taluks wise Number of Villages & Towns, Area, Population, Density in Davangere District
Sl.No Name of Taluka No.of villages No.of Towns Area in sq. km Male Female Total Density Per sq KM
1 Davanagere 172 1 956.58 309642 292881 602523 644
2 Harihar 87 1 484.62 126128 119526 245654 515
3 Honnali 168 1 884.74 113577 109015 515 251
4 Channagiri 246 1 1170.86 149796 142711 292507 242
5 Jagalur 170 1 963.35 80954 77929 158883 165
6 TOTAL 843 5 4460.15 780097 742062 1522159 1817